ACCEPTED…now what?

2 Oct

Sorry for the huge delay in posting here. Between school and waiting for my acceptance, the beginning of September was very busy for me. I’ll try to quickly fill you in on what my life has been like lately and my next steps in this CP adventure.

I last posted on August, 17. At the time, everyone on Facebook was still wondering when applications would go out. I woke up on August 18 to see a very special post on the group’s page: “APPS APPS APPS!!!!” from Kayla. I didn’t believe it at first, but as soon as I went on the official CP site, I was able to view the e-presentation and apply. I had my interview on August 20 and then the waiting began. Now for anyone still applying, don’t let the wait scare you. IT WILL BE LONG. The first batch of acceptances went out about 2 weeks after we all applied, but I didn’t receive mine until exactly 4 weeks after my interview date. So on August 17, I finally received my purple folder!!! Let me just say, it was the best day of my life and after I finally had it, the wait was in the back of my mind and I didn’t care that it took 4 weeks. The beginning of my letter reads:

 “Congratulations! You have been selected to participate as an Attractions Cast Member on the Disney College Program, for the Spring 2011 Season. This is a valuable résumé-enhancing experience for all students, and we are proud to offer this opportunity to you! This program will allow you to gain academically-oriented work experience – the kind that provides participants in any major with the tools they need to compete effectively in today’s job market.”
 

The rest of the letter states that my hourly pay rate will be $7.25 and talks about basic job responsibilities for attractions. When you get your acceptance letter in the purple folder or by email notification (some may not receive an email, but everyone gets a  purple folder), you are provided with a user name and a unique password. You are also given a deadline to accept which is about 2 weeks after your letter was addressed. This does not mean that you have 2 weeks if you receive initial notification by regular mail. My letter was addressed on September 7, but wasn’t postmarked until the 15th and I received it 2 days after that. My deadline to accept my invitation was September 22. For me this wasn’t an issue because I have a credit card and paid the fee right away.  But it’s definitely something to be aware of, that you may only have a few days to accept. When you pay the fee (which was $104.50), you choose your arrival date at the same time. I chose January 10, 2011 because it was the earliest and I can’t wait to get there. But there are a few dates to choose from so that people can choose what works best for their schedule.

Once you get done accepting your invitation, there is a whole new world to explore on the CP site. You can use your username and password to access the log-in area of the site, which gives you all the information you need to start planning your move to the happiest place on Earth. The most important thing to look at is the College Program Countdown, which gives you a detailed list  of everything you need to accomplish before you arrive in Florida. This area of the site also provides you with a list of basic things you should bring, arrival information, and more details about the living, learning, earning aspects of the college program. All the information you could ever need is on the CP site, but I will be writing a few more questions blogs to answer some detailed questions that have been asked on the Facebook group.

So now that you’ve been accepted, picked your arrival date, and looked at all the information on the CP site over and over, there’s only one thing left to do…..start getting excited for January/February because YOU’RE GOING TO DISNEY WORLD!!!

One Response to “ACCEPTED…now what?”

  1. Melinda Helms June 19, 2011 at 3:40 PM #

    You keep talking about the “Facebook Group” that told you when you could apply. Can you give me the link/name to the group? Also, I’m sort of confused what day of August you were able to apply. Could you clarify that?

Leave a Reply

