Why do I love Disney??

12 Aug

Where do I even begin? I have ALWAYS loved Disney. Always. As a little girl I pretended I was Belle and would dance around with my dad to the Disney Sing Along tapes during “Beauty & the Beast”. (He was the Beast). I was Belle, Jasmine, & Cinderella for Halloween, just to name a few. Whenever we went to a relative’s house, I’d put on a show, singing my favorite Disney songs and marching around like I was in a parade. We owned what seemed like every Disney VHS out there and I never got sick of watching every one over and over again. I had every Disney Princess Barbie doll and would re-enact their stories with my little brother. (He didn’t mind so much back then!) I had these books called “Disney Girls” about this group of friends who had magic powers. They believed they were Disney Princesses and at certain moments, could become that princess. I was one of them, or so I wanted to believe. I didn’t care that the rest of the kids in school thought Disney was lame. Every year since kindergarten, I have done some sort of school assignment related to Disney, at least once a year. In 6th grade, I did our big end-of-the-year project on Disney World and I still have that poster. Even in college, my huge 12-page in-depth research paper was about Disney and it’s idea of the American Dream, how everything it does is perfect and fits this wonderful family value of imagination and fun. I got an A on that & couldn’t have been more proud.

When I first visited Disney World in 1997, I was just 7 years old, but I knew something was magical before I went. It was all I could talk about for days before our trip. I remember telling my mom it was like a dream. And when I first walked into the Magic Kingdom, it WAS a dream. It was the most perfect dream I’ve ever experienced and to this day, I can’t help but feel like a little kid again when I see the Castle. My mom always says it feels like a time capsule when you’re there, that everything else in the world stops because you’re in this wonderful magical place where anything is possible. And I truly believe that. As soon as I’m within the borders of the World, I instantly feel this sense of comfort and familiarity. I become over whelmed with emotion and just can’t believe that I am there. I literally tear up just driving around and knowing that I’m home. I really do call Disney my second home because it’s somewhere I feel safe and where I have a huge “family” all around me. When I go back to Michigan, I say I’m just going on an extended vacation and that I’ll be home soon. Disney isn’t just a place to have fun, it has touched me in a way I can’t begin to describe. Its magic has such an extremely powerful effect on me and my only wish is to share that magic with everyone I come in contact with. I have turned Disney non-believers into some of the biggest Disney fans. I can turn any conversation into something about Disney, everything I see in life reminds me of Disney. I live, breathe, eat, sleep, and dream Disney. The blood running through my veins is probably full of pixie dust. (I do actually tend to shed glitter on people sometimes).

Everyone here knows me as the Disney girl, and I’m perfectly ok with that. I’m not afraid to hide my love for something which I truly believe in. When I get asked if I ever get sick of it, I just laugh. What is there to get sick of. I can ride the same attraction a million times over, yet it will be a completely new experience every time. I can meet my favorite characters over and over and still have a different conversation. It will never get boring to me and I think my love for Disney will just keep growing stronger. When I tell people I want to run Disney some day, I’m not joking. I’ll go back to school and get whatever degree I need to have the skills to do that, because that’s how passionate I am about this company. I want everyone in the world to be able to experience Disney’s magic and if I can help in any way, then I’ll be happy. I want to help create magic. For me, doing the Disney College Program is only going to be the first step of my ultimate dream. I can only hope I get accepted because this is the moment I’ve been waiting for all my life.

Disney isn’t just a place, it isn’t just an idea….it’s my life. And that is why I love it more than anything. Because when I wish upon a star, my dreams DO come true.

Why do YOU love Disney? Leave me a comment and share your story 🙂

One Response to “Why do I love Disney??”

  1. vane December 22, 2012 at 1:03 AM #

    i would do it but they pay to little 7 dollars is like slavery maybe if it was 11 or more

Leave a Reply

